Capital Project

Vision Aware

Posted on

Sometimes when one comes across someone who is blind, partially sighted, or Deafblind, it may be their first time interacting with them. Even if it is not their first time, often one may feel intimidated or worried about the correct or incorrect things they could do when in a particular situation. Not to fear, as […]

General

Camp Bowen Society: Notice of Special Meeting of Members

Posted on

Notice is hereby given of a Special Meeting of Members to be held by the Camp Bowen Society for the Independence of the Blind and Deafblind for the purpose of considering and approving a name change. The meeting will be held on Monday, April 12, 2021 at 4 PM Pacific. All members are welcome. To […]

Capital Project

A Salute to Summer: A Virtual Talent Show Featuring Blind, Deafblind, and Partially Sighted Performers ๐ŸŽ™๐ŸŽต๐Ÿ•บ๐Ÿฟ๐Ÿฅ‹๐Ÿ™‡๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ

Posted on

Save the date! Saturday June 5, 2021 – 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM Pacific Time – 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM Mountain Time – 3:00 PM – 5:00 PM Central Time – 4:00 PM – 6:00 PM Eastern Time – 5:00 PM – 7:00 PM Atlantic Time – 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM Newfoundland Time […]

General

Happy International Women’s Day

Posted on

This year, international womenโ€™s day falls on March 8. In honour of this significant day, we have chosen women from the blind and partially sighted community that have either shaped our lives in some form, or are admired by many. There are many women out there that we admire, but for the sake of brevity, […]

General

Supporter Spotlight: Pacific Blue Cross Health Foundation

Posted on

The Pacific Training Centre for the Blind would like to thank the Pacific Blue Cross Health Foundation for their generous donation of $8,000. โ€œWe are very proud to support the Pacific Training Centre for the Blind with new learning equipment, including two Braille displays, a talking laptop, and other training toolsโ€, says Jim Iker, Chair, […]

Capital Project

Making It Up

Posted on

As someone who is completely blind, I have been asked many times about how I organize both my clothing and makeup. I had to come up with some effective ways of doing this while growing up, so that I could be as independent as possible. I will share just some of the tips and tricks […]