Capital Project

A Salute to Summer: A Virtual Talent Show Featuring Blind, Deafblind, and Partially Sighted Performers ๐ŸŽ™๐ŸŽต๐Ÿ•บ๐Ÿฟ๐Ÿฅ‹๐Ÿ™‡๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ

Posted on

Save the date! Saturday June 5, 2021 – 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM Pacific Time – 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM Mountain Time – 3:00 PM – 5:00 PM Central Time – 4:00 PM – 6:00 PM Eastern Time – 5:00 PM – 7:00 PM Atlantic Time – 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM Newfoundland Time […]

General

Happy International Women’s Day

Posted on

This year, international womenโ€™s day falls on March 8. In honour of this significant day, we have chosen women from the blind and partially sighted community that have either shaped our lives in some form, or are admired by many. There are many women out there that we admire, but for the sake of brevity, […]

General

Supporter Spotlight: Pacific Blue Cross Health Foundation

Posted on

The Pacific Training Centre for the Blind would like to thank the Pacific Blue Cross Health Foundation for their generous donation of $8,000. โ€œWe are very proud to support the Pacific Training Centre for the Blind with new learning equipment, including two Braille displays, a talking laptop, and other training toolsโ€, says Jim Iker, Chair, […]

Capital Project

Making It Up

Posted on

As someone who is completely blind, I have been asked many times about how I organize both my clothing and makeup. I had to come up with some effective ways of doing this while growing up, so that I could be as independent as possible. I will share just some of the tips and tricks […]

General

COVID-19 Connection National Roundtable for March 3, 2021

Posted on

The topic for March 3, 2021’s COVID-19 Connection National Roundtable is focused on the non-fiction story, “Sewing”, from the book Gray Pancakes and Gold Horses. The morning will begin with the weekly COVID-19 checkin followed by a reading of and discussion on the story. Calls take place from 10 AM to 11:20 AM Pacific. The […]

Capital Project

Food For Thought

Posted on

Cooking is a vital task that one needs to do almost every day in some shape or form in order to ensure that they are meeting their body’s needs. However, most often when people have a disability such as blindness, they are discouraged from this practice. This could be due to the fear of the […]